Weekly Writing Challenges: From Mundane to Meaningful

 

I slipped on my flip flops and made my way to the mailbox. Bills…bills…bills, wonderful. Just as I was heading back, a glimmer caught my eye. A massive spider web was being created behind my mailbox. My first instinct was to screech, ewww! I found a stick and had every intention of ridding my yard of that creepy crawly critter.  I stopped. The intricate details of his web impeded my initial thought. I could just image all the hard work that was involved in such beautiful artwork. A new characteristic could be discovered by adjusting my viewpoint. The sun rays bounced off the almost translucent webbing. A glimpse of his life rushed over me. This fascinating maze served a purpose. It provided him a home, a feeding ground and a place to belong. Who am I to destroy his life? Chances are…he eats the bugs that annoy me. I carried my mail inside finding myself completely content with my new neighbor.

Thank you for taking the time to view my art. Please ‘like’ my facebook page for more images. Indulge your senses with others amazing interpretations of the Weekly Writing Challenge

5 responses to “Weekly Writing Challenges: From Mundane to Meaningful

  1. I would be the same, my overwhelming natural instinct would be to poke something at the web just to watch the poor spider frantically run about to try and repair my damage. However also like you I would find myself enthralled in the intricate designs of something so small.

  2. Nature can put things in perspective for us sometimes. but , that’s a crazy looking spider. it was brave of you not to whack it.

Leave a comment